A Singular Creation Art Community
promoting and showcasing all types of art and photography

charcoal drawing

This is a forum where you can post your art work and ask what the world thinks. I am looking for general feedback, nothing too technical. A push in the right direction would be appreciated.

Moderator: Moderators

charcoal drawing

Postby arlynnhr » Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:36 am

I'm new to drawing...never been very good at it and I want to improve. Please give me your comments!
Thanks

P.S. The scans might not be very good...
Attachments
lady.JPG
lady.JPG (132.81 KiB)
hand.JPG
hand.JPG (143.47 KiB)
arlynnhr

Gallery: View Gallery

Postby arlynnhr » Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:50 am

Hmmm...it seems like nobody is interested on giving me some critique... :(
arlynnhr

Postby Singular » Fri Apr 18, 2008 8:56 am

Sure we are. The site was down for a good portion of the day yesterday. So your post was probably not seen yet by most.

Hands are one of the hardest things to draw, especially for me. What I recommend is to study hands and the anaotmy and learn the shape, muscles, bones, etc. Start with lighter lines and add dark to form the shapes, rather than drawing dark lines. Here is an example of hands done by an artist on these forums. I think you will learn a lot by looking at them: http://www.asingularcreation.com/Forums ... ight=#1935

all the best,
Joe
Singular
Founder

Articles: 28
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby arlynnhr » Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:29 am

Thank you Singular. I have to also learn to be patient! :lol: The hands you told me to look at are amazing! I'll study them closely.
arlynnhr

Postby knapp » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:30 pm